Ballet Talk for Dancers

University dance programs with a emphasis on ballet

Hello everyone!

I'm looking for a suitable university dance program with an emphasis on ballet. but i have to mention that I'm not a pro, im an adult dancer(im 18) and have just gone en pointe. Do you know any dance program that i can get into?

Edited by Biscuit Ballerina

Welcome Biscuit Ballerina, there are actually some colleges that do not require auditions for entrance into their programs.  Three I can think of off hand are Duke, Barnard, and Skidmore.  Vassar has a minor only program too (with an ex ABT principal dancer as department head).  I do not have any real knowledge about these dance programs other than they do not require an audition for entrance, so you will want to do your own research by reading their individual thread here on Ballet Talk, looking at their college/program websites, and maybe looking at some of their performance and/or class footage on YouTube or other sites.  College confidential is another good online resource.  I am sure there are many more colleges that have dance programs without auditions or that may not be super selective.  Most of the college programs are listed in alphabetical order here, so they are easy to sort through.  You could start with colleges that you are already interested in?  are familiar with? are located near you? etc.  I wish you the best of luck!

Thanks for your reply!

I have a few colleges in mind to do research on but im not sure if I'm qualified enough to pass their auditions, are there any certain level of ballet that they may require? Or Cause Im not a total beginner :( but as you said maybe i have to look for a less selective program🙁  I'm also looking for universities in europe!