Ballet Talk for Dancers

Any all male zoom classes available?

RDS

Hey, guys!

I am new to this platform. Pleasure to meet everyone.

I have very little experience with ballet but a total fan of it. I swim, cycle and run.  I am a 54 year-old male and looking for an all male zoom beginner’s class if possible. A bit shy about ballet for many reasons but have taken a few classes before. Dying to get into it again.

Let me know if you have any insights into all male classes or privates.

Thank you! Happy I stumbled onto this site. Love all the stuff I read so far. Specially on the men’s forum because I am curious about the same things. 

Edited by RDS
  • RDS changed the title to Any all male zoom classes available?

Male dancer conference does but they may not want to put adults in with the boys classes.  I’m sure you could do privates with Bryce Lee through MDC though so I would contact them and see if they can help you. Good luck!

I haven't really come across any for adults: Daniel Catanach is the only one I can think of, but that's aimed at people with two years of experience.

Have you tried some mixed Zoom classes? Once you pin the teacher on your screen so you can see what they're doing it's not as if you're aware of other people there.

Privates would be a very expensive way to learn the basics.

Try the FB group.  Dance Accepts Everyone.    Adam Boreland gives classes almost everyday. 

I wouldn't get hung up on men's specific classes at this point. I think simply finding a good class on zoom should be the priority, and then you could always work on extra jumps, strength, turns on your own if some of the mens movements are your goal. I've even taken men/boys classes with teens, and honestly they didn't do much different than any other class - extra pushups and conditioning, and that was about it. Most were fairly new to ballet, so that was a factor too. I believe most boys take mixed classes when they begin anyway. 

On 3/12/2021 at 9:18 PM, Andy32 said: