Ballet Talk for Dancers

I Quit Ballet and Miss it...Might Want to Go Back

Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting on Ballet Talk for Dancers, but I felt it was necessary after endless Google searches that have led to nothing. Hopefully I'm on the right forum!

I am 19 years old and an advanced level ballet dancer. I started my training when I was 8 and have gone to prestigious SI's and year round programs, including last year when I was a trainee with a mid-sized company. It's worth noting that this trainee program was more affiliated with the school than with the company--some girls got opportunities to perform with the company, but I was not one of them. I've always had quite a high potential and good prospects for a career in ballet, but I've been held back by a chronic ankle injury and a surgery on my toe.

Anyways, last year as a trainee, I wasn't finding the same joy that I always had with ballet, and I decided to change paths. This decision was months in the making, but once COVID hit, it gave me even more time to get a feel for what life would be like without ballet. I was extremely burnt out at this point and it was refreshing to stop. I was fairly confident that this was the right decision, not only due to my constant physical pain, but also due to the overall negative environment at the company I was at. I decided I couldn't see myself doing this is a profession through my early adult life.

I'm a gifted student in my academics and have begun community college this year. I missed school (which was put on the back burner as a trainee) and it's been nice to start it again. I've just sent off my transfer applications to move onto a 4-year school, but all of a sudden... I miss ballet. A lot. And possibly regret moving off the professional path.