Ballet Talk for Dancers

How to have a full-time career and dance?

lucasPeni

I’ve been dancing since I was three years old, mostly ballet, but also character, jazz, modern, Irish, tap, etc... I started doing ballet more seriously when I was 10 years old and I’m now 19. I really applied myself in school and had opportunities to take advanced classes, so long story short I already have a bachelor’s degree in electrical engineering and I’m working towards a masters.

Today was the second day of summer intensives and I was placed in level 3 out of 4 levels, where 4 is the highest level. Three years ago I was also in level 3, and my parents suddenly began to think that this means I didn’t make enough progress and at my age I  Tweakbox  should be in the highest level. They think that this means it’s not worth the time and money to continue taking such an intense level of ballet classes if I  Appvalley  have no chance at a career.

I agree that given my academic abilities, I should put them to use and perhaps being a full time dancer isn’t a great choice. I need to decide what field of engineering I want to work in someday, but for now I am interested in aerospace. I still want to continue to dance in some way; I can't imagine lif https://vlc.onl e without dance, and my parents suggestion was to take some adult ballet classes.

I had another idea though that I haven’t shared: I really like musical theatre too. I have a background in music theory since I used to play piano and now play violin, so I can sing pretty well. I have years of dance experience; I would have to work on my acting, but that seems the easiest of the three to work on later in life. The only show I was ever in was a production of the Music Man, but it was a lot of fun and definitely not as intensive as daily, many hours of ballet class and rehearsal.