Ballet Talk for Dancers

Are SIs mandatory for success under 13?

2Stepdancers

My husband has a 12-year old daughter that is very passionate about ballet. She just started dancing last year and is a Level 4 in her academy.

She and her siblings live primarily with her mother in another state. My husband has time sharing over breaks and in the summer with his kids and looks forward to every second he can spend with them. It’s been hard to balance wanting them to engage in their interests but also knowing how important it is and vital for their relationship to spend time together. 

Their mother is very high conflict and doesn’t switch days when conflicts in the schedule arise, so we’ve had to be very strict about what we will and will not agree to. Recently, my stepdaughter auditioned for a summer intensive program (apologies, I’m still learning and all of this is new to me). She has already been invited to attend two programs, and we’re waiting to hear back on the others. Knowing almost all of these programs interfere with the time my husband is supposed to have with her in the summer, the mother sent an email about how imperative it is that the daughter participate in the SI — as if her future depended on it and missing is not an option. 

While of course my husband wants his daughter to pursue her passions, he also really cares about his relationship with her and worries she may be overdoing it with ballet. She’s been injured a few times already (she had to wear a boot for a few weeks earlier this year and has fractured her wrist) and we’re a little concerned she may have the beginnings of an eating disorder (suddenly very picky, choosing not to eat). These are other reasons we’re not super keen on a summer intensive at this age, regardless of whether she’s missing time with her father. If she’s 15-16 and wants to dance professionally, sure, but I just don’t know if this is the year.