Ballet Talk for Dancers

Adult class

Karen

I have a question.....is there a general rule re: adults in adult class? At my daughter's studio there are Adult classes in both Modern and Ballet. However the adults in the last few years have been attending the pre-pro division as drop in status, and now want to join and be palced on the roll book. They range in age from 39-65. Any thoughts?:confused:

(In this post I assume that the teens are old enough teens to be taught in approximately same way as adults - 14-15 and up. Many 13-14-yos are still children, and I don't believe in mixing children and adults in one class.)

Karen,

I don't think there is a general rule. In some schools, advanced enough adults are indeed allowed to take classes with teens. In others, they are not. As an adult student, I think allowing them is basically fine, but there are a lot of things to consider.

First of all, I feel that professional training - in any subject, not only in dance - should be primarily for those having a good chance to become professionals. This is to say that students of suitable age and with the necessarily physical qualifications should have preference, if there's not enough room for anyone.

While corrections etc should be dealed out evenly to anyone allowed into class, when deciding how classes should progress, the decision must be made on the basis of the pre-pro-students - the rest should sink or swim. Harsh, I know, but...

Second, I feel that the exactly same qualifications, evaluation, audition or whatever is the custom prodecure, that the teens go through to get there should be used for the adults intending to take that class. No easier requirements due to age for me, please! (This is not to say that there could not be easier adult classes, of course. Just that in one class, the rules should be same for every one.)